Character: Modeled, not force-fed

A few weeks ago, had you asked me if I believed that character education should be included in schools, I probably would have said yes. Now, however, I’ve changed my tune. While I still believe that students should be compassionate, respectful, and behave appropriately, I also believe that character education programs do not effectively teach those things. School instruction time should not be taken away for a forced focus on a specific set of values that not everyone may hold.

My main concern with character education programs in schools stems from the observation that most such programs aim to reinforce the social and cultural values of the majority, specifically compliance with authority and conformity to conservative ideals (Patriotism for All, 2006). Regardless of what “universal” values such programs claim to teach, they will all be written from a specific viewpoint and bias—most often from a majority standpoint, ignoring values and ideals of the minority. It is not the school’s place to choose what values a child holds. It is the role of the family and the family only. I don’t want my child to lose valuable learning time in order to be taught “virtues” that I don’t agree with. And, unfortunately, I don’t think it is possible to create a character education program that is truly respectful of all views, majority and minority, and that can effectively and genuinely transmit those values.

However, while I am against character education programs, I emphatically believe that respectful, compassionate, and honest behavior should be modeled in every classroom by every teacher. This is how students will learn truly universal values. If students see them in practice every single day, they will know exactly what those values look like and how to implement them in their own lives. As a parent, if I had a problem with a value being transmitted to my child by their teacher, I have more options to effectively address it than I would have if I were troubled by an entire curriculum. Not only could I talk with my child about their classroom experience and communicate how my ideals are different than what he or she witnessed, but I could also speak directly with the teacher or with school administration. It is easier to balance the opinion of a few people than it is to help my child understand why I want her to learn something completely different than what an entire school-wide program is teaching.

Many students today don’t see good examples of values at home, so seeing them at school is important. However, we don’t need a curriculum teaching just one set of values to help our students understand the kind of attitudes and behavior that are truly beneficial to the community. By modeling such values and providing ample opportunities for discussion and questioning, we can help students gain a genuine understanding of values and avoid teaching those that only apply to the majority. Character education should explain the “why” behind appropriate behavior, attempt to even the social playing field, and advocate moderating based on student differences—“But this isn’t character education at all. It is just education” (Patriotism for All, 2006, p. 354). This is why we do not need character education programs. When teachers create classrooms that are based on democracy, acceptance, respect, and care, then students will naturally learn how to be good people, and they will do so free of any one group’s agenda.

References:

Patriotism for All, 2006. The problem with character education. In D. Evans (Ed.), Taking sides: Clashing views in teaching and educational practice (3rd Ed., pp. 343-354). Boston: McGraw Hill.

Leave a comment